Discuss Issuing Certs- Commercial/ Industrial in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

M

Mainteng

Hi,

I'm a maintenance engineer in a small hospital (previously an electrician- 2330, NVQ L3, 17th Edition, etc). Can i install new circuits myself at work? I know that for domestic premises i'd have to be Part P registered and notify Building Control, etc.

I'm under the impression that being a competent person, it's ok for me to install, maintain, test and certify new and existing installations in non domestic premises, ie. at work as long as i complete an electrical installation certificate or minor works.

It's what i do anyway, but have heard naysayers state that i should be outsourcing the work to contractors affilliated to a scheme- NAPIT, NIC, etc.

Although i've done a lot of industrial inspection and testing in previous work, i don't do it at my current place simply because it's far quicker and cost effective to employ contractors. However, if i wanted to, is there anything to stop me from testing, inspecting and issuing certs myself?

Thanks.

On a similar vein. I have been asked to some work in my local church (some curtain heaters). This is a new circuit and fixed wiring. But a church is not a dwelling so not subject to Part P procedures.

So if I do the work and test off do I just complete an EIC with schedule and give one to the customer (church warden) and retain one for me?

Is that it? No building regulations certificate needed (as with Part P work). No LA documentation.

When I was in industry employed by and working for a large corporation we were doing constant changes within our sites without LA involvement (unless building work was done in which case the builder brought their own electrical contractors). But then again after I did the EIC 'someone in the office' handled it so I don't know where it went.