Discuss JIB cards in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi all.
I am a NAPIT electrician with a lot of city and guilds certificates.
However, I am disgusted that my qualifications and experience mean diddly squat in attaining a gold card. All I'm told is I don't have the more recent NVQ level 3 qualifications, nor an AM3.
I can see why AM3 would be beneficial, but does my experience and references have no value. I have done far more than any AM3 course can offer ; installation in various formats, inspect and test, fault fibfld and rectify. And to be honest, working in a whole range of domestic, commercial and industrial environments, it highlights the unrealistic scenarios that are set up during an am3.
Does anyone know of any way to get a JIB card other than having to pay lots of money to get some qualifications I already have, despite being some years ago.

Do you actually need a JIB gold card? I appreciate some people do, but I've never applied for one for similar reasons, I know I likely would only qualify for a somewhat derogatory 'labourer' card despite having a few C&G certs including inspection & testing. I've not found it a problem, but I guess it depends on the type of sites you work on.

I did the same with SJIB… haven’t renewed it for well over a decade. Had approved spark status on that when I was working for a firm. I&T included.
Was out the game for those ten years but since going self employed, I’ve got my 18th Ed. Would need to do an H&S course to get it renewed.

Not having one hasn’t been a problem so far until now.