Discuss Just saying Hi, also would like trainee forum access in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

baza890

Trainee
Reaction score
Hi
I’m hoping to find some good advice from those experienced in the electrical industry.
I’m 23 and from Birmingham, I completed my level 2 and 3 C&G Diploma in Electrical Installation (2365).
Has anyone got any advice on what I could do to gain practical experience to help my CV? I do practice basic wiring but my parents are not keen for me to do too much around the house (done some small DIY at home wiring)
I've looked online to apply for electricians mate jobs but pretty much all of them require 1 year experience+

Thanks

Welcome to the forum. @Dan can give access to the trainee section so either message him or wait until he picks up on this.

Done! You should have access now
Not sure if this is just me but I can't seem to reply to the original post but can reply to replies.

@baza890 jist keep plugging your self (sounds like advice for the squits when you say it like that), get CVs/posters into wholesalers, grab that modern day equivalent of Yellow Pages/Thomson Local and get cold calling.

Look for other avenues; fire detection, CCTV, Telco & Networks and get a shoe in that way. I managed to get my break in a company that just does Testing, Inspection and Certification, no install work but it's a start and my body is likely to thank me for it.

Keep at it and good things will come, if my journey has taught me anything it's putting in the work and having the right attitude and (as in my case) sell your weaknesses/threats as a positive to any potential employer; No experience.....but no bad habits either - perfect to mould into the perfect company man. Disability? Great for company PR and image, truly an equal opportunities employer....and so on.

Hi