Discuss Laos - no earths, no RCDs... advice please in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Schwuppes

DIY
Reaction score
Hi everyone! :)

I've just recently moved to Laos PDR and was shocked (no pun intended) to find that the whole house has no earth wire (i.e only Live and Neutral) going to all sockets and appliances... to top it all off also no RCD's... its completely ridiculous.
I am not an electrician and have only basic knowledge of electrical stuff. But i believe I am totally unprotected in this scenario...

Now... would it be acceptable to run a seperate earth wire from each appliance say through a drilled hole in the wall to a copper earthing rod into the soil? Kind of like a TT earth but individually for each appliance? I will limit the use of anything thats not double insulated as much as I can... but a few things like the hotplate and instant shower water heater I can't avoid. An electrician actually came today and installed such an earth as I described to the shower instant water heater at least (my landlord's comment was "we normally don't use earths except for the water heaters... lol).

Anyway Id like to ask if there is anything wrong with this... I'm thinking of voltage potentials between the improvised earths and say metal pipes etc. Apart from the fact that the resistance of the copper rods would be too high to trip the MCB (at least they have those here lol)

Which brings me to the second part of my question: if I were to use those portable socket RCDs... would they work? I'm guessing it would be better than nothing, right?

Sorry for long post, thank you :)

Thanks for posting here. :)

That sounds bloody lethal! - I can't help you out I'm not an electrician, but I'll watch this thread because this sounds crazy!

Installing multiple earth rods and connections as you suggest is a bad idea. If you are going to earth it tune it all needs to be connected to the same earth, not a bunch of different ones.