Discuss LED bulbs burning out on same circuit as fluorescents? in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Just interested if anyone knows anything about this. I was chatting to someone in a wholesalers today and he said he had a lighting circuit feeding some LED fittings then a fluorescent then some more LED fittings, when he turns on the lights all the LED bulbs after the fluorescent blow straight away, he opened up the bulbs and the circuit boards were totally burned out. anyone have any ideas what might be causing this?

Harmonic Distortion. I duno, call the manufacturer of the leds and ask them. Sorry I'm not an expert in flossys haha

Well like I said, its not my problem I don't even know the guy but it sounded like a strange fault that ive never come across, all I can think is the ballast is maybe causing some kind of surge and I know the led bulbs are quite delicate, just thought someone might have come across it before but you obviously haven't but thank you soooo much for the helpful responses

Yeah, there's no question that the flossy is causing the problem so it's simple enough to fix...get him to take it out.

I have not known this problem either. I have put LEDs into some potentially electrically noisy areas such as lift cars with no problems.
I know it is not your job, but if the fluorescents did not have electronic grear then I would change them first. Failing that an oscilloscope or signal/power monitor to see exactly what is going on.

Yea, I don't think its got anything to do with noise, and its strange because its quite common to have fluorescents and LEDs on the same circuit as places slowly change them over, I agree that they must have an underlying problem they need to sort out