Discuss Light switch in bathroom in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
I am not an electrician but I had my bathroom re done and a electrician replaced my light pull cord with a switch it is 1.4m away from my bath I was told this was ok. I have had another electrician come out for another job and has been in my bathroom and said it needs to be a pull cord and isn’t allowed

A plate switch is permitted as long as it is greater than 0.6m away from the edge of a bath or shower. However the rooms environment al conditions and use have to be taken into account - it might not be a good idea to use a plate switch in a bathroom that suffers with high levels of condensation or humidity for example.

Difficult question for the OP, but is the lighting circuit RCD protected, perhaps a picture of you CU (sorry fuse box) would help.

A plate switch in a steamy bathroom never sits well with me. And far too easy for someone dropping wet through to operate it.

I say minimise the risks.

Nothing at all wrong with a plate switch in a domestic bathroom. There is, and never has been, any regulation preventing it. The original regulation was that it shouldn't be placed within reach of a person using a shower or bath, and this was relatively recently changed to the 0.6m regulation mentioned above (which in practice, is much closer than permitted by the original reg.)
I have never fitted a cord switch in any bathroom or shower where the regs could be satisfied by a plate switch, and have NEVER had a single instance of a customer complaining of even the mildest electric shock from a switch.