Discuss Live wire taped off in the loft. in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Goatus

-
Reaction score
Afternoon all, new on here and hoping someone maybe able to offer a bit of advice?

I am flooring the loft at the moment in the loft, and there is a length of wire (grey 3 core) that has just been taped off and taped to the rafters. The wire is live (240v) but isolating the MCB for upstairs lights/sockets and downstairs lights sockets makes no difference so assuming it's not to do with them! I did wonder whether it was put up to faciliate loft lighting?

As mentioned it's a fairly new build house.

I'm a novice at this and am curious as to what it was and if anybody would know?
Many thanks
Nick

There seems to be a lot of tape around.
First question. How do you know the cable is live?
edit….late, it seems.

Cheers for the quick replys!

Firstly im assuming as testing with a voltage tester / multi meter is bringing a reading of 237/240, although wet finger test would give a positive result I'm sure! :astonished::astonished::tearsofjoy:

There are Ariel wires up there (as in the previous house) so thats another option! I shall continue the search!

Any chance you could trace the cable route? when you say 3 core do you mean L,N and Earth?

It comes up on the exterior wall side, which is also the side of the consumer unit (located down stairs in the under stairs cupboard ). Yes that's right L N and earth. I've attached an image of said wire, not that it will be much help!

Thanks again!

20190127_135325.jpg

Cheers for the quick replys!

Firstly im assuming as testing with a voltage tester / multi meter is bringing a reading of 237/240, although wet finger test would give a positive result I'm sure! :astonished::astonished::tearsofjoy:

There are Ariel wires up there (as in the previous house) so thats another option! I shall continue the search!