Discuss London Underground advice!? in the Business Related area at ElectriciansForums.net

N

NoTrip

I recently passed my Lucas assessment and I'm a newly qualified electrician.

What is the best way to find work on London Underground? Or which agencies should I join?

I'm looking for work as an electricians mate because I come from an domestic installation background...any advice given will be much appreciated!!

Thanks...

London Underground can be the biggest pain to work on, but is still the best paid. You will need to sit quite a few caurses before you can even enter a station main permits are as follows 1. standard entry permit, 2. trackside permit, 3. track permit. 4 esculator permit, 5. LV switch room permit, 6. HV switch room permit, 7. AH room permit.....these are just a few examples and depending on areas of work. Standard night starts at 12am but after checks youll be lucky to start work by 1am..work till 4am then more checks and then a fire alarm tests, off site at 5am....3 hours work if your lucky with a lot of hazzel.
Main contractors, Baily Rail, O`rouke

If your employed by one of the main companies they will, but agenies wont....main training centre is in Stratford run by LUL and Tubelines

T Clarkes through First Step or Diamond, and K&N just through Diamond are the ones I know.
I believe that Mace though mostly overground and Fast Track also provide labour of companies working on the underground.

Very odd, you're not allowed on the platform if the tracks live unless you have track awareness, but it's alright for you to stand on the platform when going home?

Not that good, from about ÂŁ126.81 to about ÂŁ135, unless it's weekend rates.
On one job, we worked from 7am through to 5pm on a Sunday, and got ÂŁ320 odd.
On another job (different company), we got ÂŁ300 for the weekend.

You need to do some survey on your working area and present its copy to the relevant authority for getting permit.