Discuss Looking for UK qualification in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

aBanga

-
Reaction score
Hi everybody,
My name is Andrew
I work as an electrician in the UK for over 5 years, including industrial and commercial installations and currently am interested in gaining UK full qualification, I am a non-UK qualified, have finished Power engineering bachelor degree back in Latvia where I am originally from, in the UK I have managed BS 7671 wiring regulations certificate so far. Also, I have UK Naric statement of comparability if it can help.
The quesion is, can I be requalified according to the UK standards and gain JIB grade and ECS card from what exactly should I start?

As I am a new user of the forum maybe someone can advise in which section of the forum should I seek information and answers and could redirect me?

Thanks in Advance

JIB do a mature candidate assessment scheme whereby you can get a JIB card with whatever grade they think you qualify for. you'd also need to do the H&S exam which is about £40.

Welcome Andrew!

Funny enough, I used to work with a Latvian colleague in the past and they where one of hardest workers I know and very friendly, so I have a lot of respect. You've got a great amount of experience behind you which helps, to be honest your experience is often more valuable than qualifications to most employers but there's a few things to consider...

ecs-logo.JPG

ECS Card
ECS (Electrical Certification Scheme) cards are basically the same as a CSCS card, they allow you to work on site and show important information which includes your skill-level. The JIB judges your skill-level based on the qualifications you hold, and gives you a ECS card based on your qualifications and role, a full list of ECS card types can be found here for more information on their website.