Discuss LV Distribution Feeder Queries in the Industrial Electricians' Talk area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hey there everyone,

I'm currently an EE student doing my 4th year project. As part of my project, I am carrying out a literature review into the design rules DNOs apply to their LV distribution networks.

I am trying to built up a reasonable understanding into how these networks are laid out. From what I can gather, most areas have a centralised substation with 5 or 6 parallel, radial feeders coming from the LV side of the transformer terminals to domestic and commercial properties.

I've done a bit of research already but I'm struggling with a few things I hope somebody could help clear up. I've included a picture showing one of the networks I'm studying:

Capture.PNG
  • Where the red triangle is the secondary substation, am I right in saying that this network has two "main" feeders (red and blue).
  • If that is the case, how are the branches physically tapped off the main feeder? For instance if a residential property is only requiring a single phase supply, how is that taken from a three-phase - 3/4 core cable? Is that cable taken into a junction box of sorts, or would it just be "tee'd off" directly from the main feeder?
Hope these questions aren't too silly and make a lick of sense :D

The terminology as far as I know is 'distributing main' for the cable coming from the substation and down the street.
'service cable' for the cable which is tapped off of the distributing main to feed a customer.

Small services are generally tapped off directly from distributing main via line taps/ c crimps, pole top joint box if overhead or via a sealed underground joint if underground.
Underground joints are usually either cast resin, heatshrink or cold shrink types depending on the particular DNO, type of joint or operational requirements.
Larger services may have a feed directly from a feeder pillar at the substation.