Discuss Main Panel and Sub Panel Wiring Issues in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

amwitte1

DIY
Reaction score
Hello everyone, I hope you are doing well.

Several years ago I purchased an older 1971 home (aluminum wiring that has since been fixed with al/cu purple connections). There is also a sizeable detached workshop (copper wiring) in the back. This workshop's wiring is in such disrepair that I switched off the sub panel power and left it off until professional help could be hired. Now that I have saved enough to start fixing the shop up, I have ran into some seemingly strange wirings, even in the main panel. I am no expert, so perhaps it isn't as strange as I think or such wiring is typical for an older home. I have provided a summary below on the most notable things I believe are issues.
  1. The main service wires feed into a large double 100A breaker at the top of the column. The 60A sub panel's wires attach to the top two main lugs, meaning there is no breaker between the shop's sub panel and the main panel. This is a dangerous hazard since the wires leading to the sub panel are always live unless the entire main 100A breaker is turned off, correct? Just how bad is this? I want to upgrade the main panel, but my utility company may require the meter/panel to be moved to the front of the house (currently in back) for easy access. This would be astronomically expensive to say the least. I will be contacting the utility company to confirm.
  2. There are 3 wires leading from the main panel to the subpanel (goes underground in a PVC conduit). Does this mean that there is no ground going to the sub panel? I am currently hammering in two 8 foot grounding rods next to the shop over 6 feet apart and will bury/connect them with 4 gauge bare copper wire.