Discuss Maintenance Electrican in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

E

ellcapone

Im a 24 year old fully qualified electrician with my inspection and testing quals. Ive been working at my firm for about 6 years doing industrial installing for a small firm (15 lads on site / 10 in office). I love what I do but i want to move on to the next step. After speaking with my boss he has said he wants to bring me into the office to become one of the operations/contracts managers however the opportunity is not anytime soon he thinks in a couple of years a place will open up. While I dont dout him with his promises Im keen to progress.

I recently applied for a maintenance engineers role at a local manufacturing company fixing breakdowns and doing preventive maintenance, there a good size and have around a 30 million pound turnover. They have offered me the job and have said they will put me through my mechanical engineering quals (NVQ level 3) and will then class me as a multi skilled maintenance engineer. This will also strengthen my electrical knowledge with PLCs and other control systems.

I was wondering if anybody has ever gone from being an installer to a maintenance engineer and if so whats it like?

Also do people think that doing mechanical qualifcations is more of a side step than progression? I dont know if having qualifcations in both makes me more employable to big blue chip firms or would they prefer somebody with higher qualifications such as HNCs in one field?

Any feedback would be great thanks.

Whats involved in the maintenance job will you ve able to move up in tbe company to more a managment role or will you just be on the shop floor if its the shop floor then it sounds like more of a sideways move , If you are happy were you are currently working i would maybe give it that 2 years and move up within your company you are still young and the grass is not always greener .