Discuss Make a very simple test for me in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

_q12x_

DIY
Reaction score
Im asking this question to everyone but in particular to my friend here mister @marconi .
I am a professional artist but I am not an electronist like you guys here. That doesnt mean I dont know anything. I know something but I can't raise to some of your standards and knowledge. I'm happy (sometimes fun) to learn something new here and there.
- Recently, it was suggested to me to buy a frequency counter, because I got into some crystal oscillators I have in my stock and they have no markings anymore and the reason is a bit too long story. I already buy a cheap one from ebay, exactly this yellow version (not the red one)
Make a very simple test for me 1652601113433 - EletriciansForums.net
but it is on the road. I have about 2-3 months (usually) to wait, until it arrives.
I also have a dinky DSO138 osciloscope that is trembling of Parkinson all the time. So you can imagine, I can't put my 100% trust in it all the time.

So, my first circuit for testing a crystal oscillator I find is this:
"Oscillator Circuit of The First Quartz Wrist Watch"
Make a very simple test for me 1652601331786 - EletriciansForums.net

I had high hopes for this circuit. I used 10k for both Rc(c=collector) and 1k for both Re(e=emitor). And I used BC548 for both Tr.I used a known value of a Quartz of 20MHz. And I used 2V (VB=Voltage Battery). But the oscilloscope just showed me some very weird and random readings that I can not even put head to tail. I build this circuit on my breadboard, and that may had influence the results.

---So this circuit didn't work for me---. But I bet my as it must be a good one and I blame my DSO138 for being crappy.
And also not having (yet) a frequency counter.