Discuss Makita 8391DWPETK drill - Advice needed in the Electrical Tools and Products area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

E

evanspark

I'm new to this so in all honesty, I wouldn't have a clue at what is good and what's not.

There's a personal reason behind me wanting a makita drill amongst the fact that they are a good make and as I'm starting up my tool collection etc, i'm after my first drill.

I've spotted this one and it seems to be a good starting kit and good value for money but as said, I'm unsure on what specs are good etc, so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

LINK: Makita 18v Combi Drill Kit 8391DWPETK - Makita Direct

Cheers,
Greg

looks good price to me mate. before deciding, check out hitachi and panasonic

I'm not going to order this second, so i'll definitely check plenty of alternatives. Any reccomendations within the hitachi and panasonic ranges?

Preferably in the same price range as that Makita above

I've just read about somebody complaining about the batteries only being 1.3? but it does come with two so that shouldn't really be an issue.

also look at li-ion batteries and see what b&q have on offer. i got an AEG li-ion for £72 the other week.

I'll have a good look around, cheers for the advice.

Are there any shops other than B&Q that sell at decent prices that you know of?

I checked out Screwfix but for the same Makita set as above, they're wanting £250 which is miles above getting it direct from Makita themselves...

have you considered Milwaukee, i have now moved to Milwaukee as i have noticed that they have a better build quality and seem to be very reliable.
the New 28v range is also outstanding

I'm new to this so in all honesty, I wouldn't have a clue at what is good and what's not.