Discuss MCB/RCD tripping randomly in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi there,
Apologies if this is the wrong place to post but as a complete novice I was hoping for some advice on the next steps when engaging with a professional electrician.

We recently purchased a house and after a couple of months being here the MCB for the kitchen circuit and the associated RCD keeps randomly tripping (once or twice a day, usually late at night 11pm-1am or in the morning 8am-11am). Both MCB/RCD can be switched back on immediately without being retriggered.

It first happened after heavy heavy rain, so we suspected some water had made its way into a socket or appliance, but after checking the roof we couldn't see any obvious points of ingress (kitchen extension Inc wiring was done in 2017). It then proceeded to persist in dry spells too.

So we set about eliminating the appliances on the circuit. During this process we found out that the cooker and extractor are situated on the main kitchen circuit, I assume this is okay as it is a single oven and has a max power input of 2.4kw, as i understand everything over 3kw has to be on its own circuit?

After leaving the oven/extractor off at the isolator (except when using it) we found that we had no more random tripping....... Until today when my other half heard a "pop" from the general direction of the washing machine (not on at the time) or a wall socket with a coffee machine (previously eliminated). The washing machine wasn't previously eliminated as it was such an arse to move and is also brand new. I've now plugged that into a different circuit to be sure.