Discuss MCB type confusion. in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I've noticed at my grandparents house that all the MCB's in the consumer unit are all type C, every single one of them. Including the ring final circuits and lighting (there's no fluorescent lights in the house at all). The house isn't that old as well. Maybe about 16 years old. With me being a trainee electrician I've always been taught that domestic dwelling ideally should use type B MCB's unless you have a whole row of fluorescent lights which is unlikely in a domestic dwelling. It's this not ok? Thanks.

And obviously the circuits will still work fine with a type C MCB but in the event of a fault the MCB might not trip in time.

Sounds like someone working in the commercial sector fitted the consumers unit maybe had a load of spare mcbs on the van !! I would of thought disconnect time would be achieved as the cables runs would not be that long. Although the 32 amp circuits may be close to the maximum zs permitted. Was there any RCD protection

There isn't any rule mandating type B or any other, as long as protection is achieved the installation is compliant.

It is perfectly acceptable to use C or B.

As long as the fault current is disconnected within the usual time, and the temperature rise (i^2t - adiabatic equation) is within limits then it is every bit as good as any other solution which meets the same requirements.

Have pondered this situation , will they last any longer,
built to a better quality ?
(Still expecting a bigger bang !)
As Julie already pointed out they are perfectly acceptable so long as you meet the disconnection times. And that is typically around half the Zs value for a given rating at the limits of the magnetic trip are 3-5*In and 5-10*In for B or C respectively.