Discuss Meter Tails Incident in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am not an electrician and have joined this forum for some help. Here is some background information to my incident:-

Background

House Built 1985
Took ownership December 1999
Electricity meter replaced by electricity supplier 12 January 2004
Consumer unit upgraded 16 January 2008
Current Incident March/April 2017

Incident

During March 2017 I noticed a thud in the lounge on right hand wall and investigated and could not find the cause

The thud or popping sound continued four or five times daily until 2 April 2017 when I investigated further. The electricity meter box was open and I looked inside and noticed the meter tails had a sooty deposit and was arcing.

I contacted my electrician who told me to switch off the power at the consumer unit and he came out immediately and made everything safe.

He noticed that the meter tails were of the wrong size being16.0mm² twin and earth cable old colour conductors of red and black (current rating 70Amps). Possibly original installation as the only work I had done is detailed above.

I agreed that the meter tails be changed to correct specification of 25.0mm² double insulated tails (current rating 110Amps) with 16.0mm² earth (current rating 74Amps).
This work was completed on 4 April 2017

Conclusion

There was an electrical storm early March 2017 and I noticed shortly afterwards that my AV amplifier stopped working due to a short burn fuse blowing. I can only assume that the electrical storm caused a power surge sufficient to not blow the main fuse on the incoming supply at the consumer unit but sufficient to cause heating and arcing of the twin and earth cable which had a current rating of 74Amps.
Is this feasible?

Was the sooty residue at the connections to the meter, which wire was it in your case black or red, if so how far up the wire did the scorching extend? Any idea what size the DNO's fuse is?