Discuss Metrel 61557 in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

AdieB

-
Reaction score
Hi all,
Is there anyone out there that has a Metrel 61557. If so can you explain the Uc , Rl mode number 10 on my machine?
You set the values to 30mA G and then carry out the test. I think it is so you can test Zs at the socket without tripping the RCD. When the test is complete you get three values i.e. 1.62 Ohms 50 Volts and 0.06 Volts. Can anyone explain what the three values represent so I can get it clear in my head. If this is not the way to test Zs at sockets which mode should I be using? I am new to this having just obtained Napit. The tester which I have had for about ten years and recently had calibrated when I spoke to the Metrel guy he suggested that all though a good tester it and its software is ancient. Should I get a new tester would a new tester carry out the Zs at the sockets easier?

Adie B

You've set the instrument to non-trip loop test
Ulim is the limiting voltage set by you usually 50V or could be 25V
Uc is the contact voltage generated when you press the test button
Ulpe is the phase to and cpc, should show before the test starts
RI is the Loop test resistance when measuring the contact voltage Uc

Hi Adie, You obviously have a Metrel 61577 Instaltest where rotary switch position 10 is the RCD No-trip, Earth Fault Loop Resistance (actually impedance but Metrel call it resistance) mode (marked U[SUB]c[/SUB],R[SUB]l[/SUB]). There is no reason to buy a new MFT to carry out No-trip loop measurements. The 61577 is quite capable of accurate results when the looP function is selected. The difference between the 61577 and some modern MFTs is the relative speed of the test, not the accuracy. In fact the 61577 is likely to be more accurate than some of the modern speedsters which can be severely degraded by electrical noise.
Test Method: