Discuss Metrel Alphatec Instaltest 61557 in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

N

NZSPARK

HI all!!!! Greetings from NEW ZEALAND! I am a quallified Electrician.

I ask this question on these fourms , as my work mate is from Yorksure and he told me that these meters are what most of the Brittish are using. He migrated here about 7 years ago.

I have recently aqquired a metrel 61557 Installation tester , and apart from removing the brittish 13A ( and i must say REAL PLUG , Hate to stand on that bugger in middle of the night!! ) , from the test lead , and fitting a Crappy NZ 10A one......mostly it works well.

Love the tester , and it preforms well , well for the most part but im confused with the loop test part.

It says in the manual its measurment range is from 0.2-2000OHM ,and PSC up to 1220A , or 1.2KA.

that would mean regardless of the actual impedance of the cct.......the MAX ill get is 0.20 , and 1220A prospecticve Current....a bit of a waste of time i think.

What are other peoples views on this meter , what concerns me about this , is that the MAX PSCC i seam to be able to read is 1220 A ( 1.2KA ). Our Little small plug in type MCBs are rated at 3KA, If i put this on a 150+kva transformer , with massive tails , then that be a bad situation!

IF the lowest value i can obtain is 1220A then the actual value could potentially be a lot lower , but how much?

Ive got a recenct "calabration" cert , but the Ze........doesnt go that low....they only tested with a 0.5OHM Impedance.

It does say tho that the "display" results are min 0.00 , and display up to 24KA........

Am i reading something wrong , any other users out there, results?

Many thanks guys!

Craig
NEW ZEALAND