Discuss Multimeters, in the Electrical Tools and Products area at ElectriciansForums.net

G

Guest22

Hey guys, im looking at multi meters, we use flukes at work! My job is tools supplied but, Im currently an apprentice so no chance of getting a multimeter till im out of my time! So i was wondering what one? They all seem to use a Fluke 80 Series V Industrial Multimeters or similar but i was wondering if anyone could point me towards a cheaper alternative would be nice for it too auto range, and possibly be a fluke, only as what we use at work, but not as important. Budget around 100

Thank you
Ethan

At present I would look for value for money products from the following budget instrument makers:- Amprobe/Robin (part of Fluke group), Alphatek/Metrel (part of Metrel Group), DiLog, Extech (part of Flir Group), Kewtech and Uni-Trend (A quality Chinese manufacturer, badged Uni-T, widely available on Fleabay, Maplin and elsewhere).
Dilog, Alphatek/Metrel, Extech, Kewtech and other meters are available with a 5% member discount from Test-Meter our forum sponsors.

By shopping around, limiting yourself to the budget brands above, you will be able to find amazing specifications within your financial limit and without sacrificing on the quality of manufacture.

When you have completed your apprenticeship and are earning more money you can get a Fluke, by that time the Fluke 80 series (already in it's 5th incarnation and showing it's age) will have been replaced by an even better model. But my guess is that you will be more than happy with what you buy now and may well feel the upgrade an unnecessary expense.

[FONT=&amp]ROBIN-AMPROBE – United Kingdom
Uni-Trend Group Limited
Extech Instruments - About Us
Di-LOG Test Equipment | |Supplier of quality electrical test equipment.
http://www.kewtechcorp.com/products/...ters/index.htm
Multimeters - Electrical Multimeters, Kewtech Multi meters, Test and Measuring Multi Meters DMMs[/FONT]

Last edited by a moderator: