Discuss Need some advice about extractor fan installation in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi, I have no electrical experience whatsoever, but I have a question about some wiring that was done for my mum.
My mum had some work done in her home by a not so respectable person and I was wondering who is responsible for reporting it. I think it falls under Part P.

He installed a new extractor fan in the downstairs toilet, where there was just an old plaster vent. The new fan only switches on and spins if the toilet light is on... it doesn't work independently.

I don't think he is qualified to do the work and won't reply to phone calls or texts, so I can't get an answer out of him. My pensioner mum paid upfront before he began the work and only called me once he disappeared.

I'm reading up on Part P but am not 100% sure who is at fault when it comes to reporting the work before it is carried out. My mum - the home owner or the builder? He was originally hired to treat damp.

Thanks for any helpful words.

Welcome to the forum mate.
Extractor fans can work in many ways. Some have a timer and only work when the room light is on.
What did you mum ask for?
Do you have a written quote?
Do you know the electricians name?
Is he part of a scheme, like NICIEC, Stroma....? If so then you could contact them and tell them your worries.
Did your mum get a Minor Work Certificate from the electrician?
What makes you think he isn't qualified to do the work?