Discuss Need some help and advice on adding some 3 phase industrial machinery in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

M

magicmickey

Hi Guys

This is my first post, I am always on here reading threads but this is the first time I have registered and sent a post so please be gentle!!

I am a qualified electrician but have worked as a maintenance engineer for a few years now so feel a little rusty with my electrical skills.

I have been asked to wire in some light industrial machinery into a new unit. All machines are 3 phase, with a working load ranging from 5A to 20A. I have calculate that the demand for all machines could be up to 110A as all machines could be on at the same time.

My problem is the unit only has one 3 phase distribution board for the whole unit. It has a 125A switch on it and is currently approximately 80% occupied. all three tails supplying the board go through a suppliers 100A BS1361 fuse.

My thoughts are that we need to get a new 3 phase supply into the building but this would obviously cost a lot so before I made that suggestion I just wanted to ask for your opinions and hopefully some advice on anything that I could do

Thanks for your help in advance

Mick

If you do clamp/data recorder it you'll probably find you're nowhere near the 110A you have totalled the rated loads to. This will be dependant on the type of machinery but very few machines run at their "rated" load for any considerable amount of time.

What type of machines are we talking?

Given the 5 drives you list @400V, 0.85pf, 95% eff. I only get 55.03A. Where’s the rest going? Fully loaded the motor PF would be even better.

Thanks for the replies so far

The machines I am most concerned about are 4 x 6KW washers and a 7.5KW compressor