Discuss Need to price a job, but its all a little new to me. Help please in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

D

Dan604

Hi guys,

So as the title suggests, I've done a fair amount of domestic work on and off over past 5 years and decided it was time to do my inspection and testing, I have passed which is great news!

I have now been asked to give a price to swap out lights in a commercial suspended ceiling grid with LED equivalents and certify them.
I am yet to register with anyone (NICEIC, Napit etc), But forgetting the registration - I also have no idea how much to charge as I am new to getting work in for myself.

So lets presume the lights are being supplied, And the customer is disposing of the old lights (And tubes), How much is a going rate to fit a light and sign it off.

I know there is many factors, How many lights etc, But would love to hear how other do it, and is there a rule of thumb
which any of you use to price this kind of job up?

Thanks in advance for input!
Dan

Have you actually looked at the job? speak to the client as to exactly what work is entailed as far disposal etc, do you need scaffold, when can you do the work i,e, does the client require you to work out of hours? not enough information given in your post I,m afraid.

It's no different to pricing your domestic work. Materials plus time at chosen rate. Keep it simple.

Assess the current system and ascertain whether there are any earthing and bonding issues, if you can adapt the existing circuits or need to run new ones, system is suitable to work on etc etc. Access to the building and working height are also factors that may affect your price.

EDIT: Or as Pete999 beat me to it, pretty much what he said ^ :D

You will probably be required to provide a risk assessment. safe system of work etc as well, only saying

Thanks to both Pete and Andy.