Discuss Neons on IR test ..... in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

J

jules27

Maybe common sense ,but I'm still learning . Even if you switch the spur off will the neon still ruin your IR reading , they wont be illuminated and therefore not connected or only connected on load side.

thanks

think you are right. if you switch off the spur/isolator, your IR tester will not see the neon

the neon will we disconnected ont the live side of spur/isolator so will not be seen on the ir test but will be seen on the switched side!

As per regs in BRB you can use other methods if you can't disconnect equipment vulnerable to testing

Clamp Line/Neutral together and test to Earth

Under certain circumstances even a 250v test is acceptable

As per regs in BRB you can use other methods if you can't disconnect equipment vulnerable to testing

Clamp Line/Neutral together and test to Earth

Under certain circumstances even a 250v test is acceptable

I wouldn't class a neon as vulnerable equipment, they are on the load side so just turn off the switch and note on your cert NEON next to the circuit.

Are they wired between L/N or L/E ? Not all fused connection units have any double pole switch, and what if the FCU is protecting a radial or other down rated hard wired circuit ? like a small lighting circuit, you wouldn't be IR'n the whole circuit, although having re- read the OP I assume he is protecting fixed equipment so switching off would do the job

They are wired between line and neutral. You don't need a double pole switch to isolate them.
If they are protecting a radial then you should really bypass them and complete the tests, but common sense would prevail.
3 things I hate: 1 Neons, 2 Dimmer Switches and 3 down lighters :p

Your obviously a professional electrician so I can't tell you how to suck eggs, but do you not find method 2 of doing IR saves all that aggro of disconnecting Dimmers, trannys and socket based RCD's etc ?