Discuss Neutral & live reverse polarity in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
I’m not an electrician so apologies if my terminology is off, but I’m looking for some help. 3 months ago we had solar panels installed and we had our electricity company out today to install a smartmeter. The first thing they did was check the electrics were ok before they started and they found out neutral and live connections had been switched between the fuse box & fit meter. They checked a lot of sockets throughout the house and they were all affected. Both he EDF guys and the solar guy who came to fix it were pretty horrified, but I’d like to know what the actual dangers were before we lodge a complaint with the solar panel company. We have 2 young children, 16 months and 3 when it was installed. If I understand correctly all the sockets were live despite being switched off and we could have had electric shocks off any of the appliances in the house. My husband was planning on sinking a socket this weekend, what would have happened if we hadn’t found out and the socket was still live when he did this? Is there more? It seems to be so rare that google isn’t giving me much, but the reactions we had from professionals were pretty worrying. Thank you for any information.

Last edited:
Well I think you said it really, things still being live when you think you switched them off. The other main possibility is damaging equipment. It is one of the primary tests and it is unthinkable that it was left out by some one. This is gross negligence.
In Tort there are three hurdles to claiming damages. One, was there a duty of care? Absolutely-Two was the duty of care breached? clearly it was-And three did any harm result from it? No.
However had your Husband decided to sink a socket and was not competent electrically he may have been electrocuted. If he undertook work he was not competent to do then and harm resulted that would count as contributory negligence.