Discuss New garage consumer unit required - and changing house mcb??? in the DIY Electrical Advice area at ElectriciansForums.net

P

Phillb

hi, just need some advice please knowing little about electrics. I'll be getting someone in at some point to put in a new consumer unit in the garage and just want a little back ground information before I do.

I'm a home woodworker and my garage is my mancave. I've run most of my tools with no problems, but a lot of plug swapping and little amount of sockets to choose from. I've recently purchased a twin motor dust collection vacuum. (240v) normal 13amp plug. Running it with any tool works fine apart from my table saw. It trips the current unit. It works fine if started with 1 motor running and then start my saw some seconds later but running the twin motor will trip the circuit.Now my Saw is a 240v but a 16amp plug, which I feel my be one of the problems when running the 2 together. That being said I've wanted to have change around for a while so -

Wanting to re-do and organise my workshop for some time, am finally ready to put in new lights and a new ring circuit for the sockets. (hopefully 6-8??) So a new consumer box is what am looking at also, to replace the old crappy unit that's there.
I have been advised that the consumer unit should have a 63amp Rcd with a 32amp for Ring sockets, 20 amp for my table saw to run off and 6amp for my lights, should sort everything out and be hunky dory I checked the wire running from the house to the garage and it's a 4-5 mm thick wire, so that should be a good thing also.
My problem if u haven't seen one yet?? Is the breaker(mcb)in the consumer unit in the house which is labeled "Garage" is only 32amp?? Doesn't this mcb need to be higher than the 63Rcd which would be installed in the garage?? :/
And if so, is it as simple as changing the 32ampMcb in the house consumer unit for a higher one?