Discuss New Member Looking To Emigrate in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi guys, long time reader on the forums but never a member until now. Hoping there might be a few people here that can help me out.

I'm a 4th year apprentice in Scotland about to resit the section I failed on my test at the end of the month. All going well and I pass this time, I was looking to hopefully move to Australia. I was wondering what the process is to actually get over there and get working as an electrician? Do I have to have been qualified here for a certain length of time before the move? I have a brother already in Australia with residency (also an electrician with UK qualification) who is married to an Aussie girl, I'm not sure if that means I could apply for different types of visas or it may not make any difference at all. Any help is much appreciated and if there's any more information needed then I will try and tell yous everything I know! Thanks

Thank you! Thats what I was hoping to hear, any information is appreciated! I was thinking about Melbourne or the nearby area anyway. I've had a very brief search online and it looks like there's quite a few jobs for electricians going there

Hey bud... been working nights so my clock is a bit out. Will PM you the long journey that awaits lol. As your married to an Australian you can get a spouse Visa makes life a lot easier in that regards. It's more the electrical licensing that's the issue. Plus Victoria is a highly Union state. Very active so getting your licence there might require further messing around.