Discuss New Oven tripping mcb massively in the UK Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi everyone, stumbled across your forum while googling tonight, hoping for a bit of advice...
I have some electrical knowledge, and I fit/change electric meters for a living for past 20yrs for one of the big six!

Have been given a brand new (but faulty) oven by a relative, an Electrolux EOB3400EAX.
They got it brand new, don't know from where, cant find it on many websites, must have got it online??

The person who gave it to me said they got few days before Christmas and hadn't used it, as it was tripping out their electric from the off, and they were worrying about Christmas lunch failing etc as had lot of family coming over, they just thought it was too much for their wiring or mcb, so they just got another oven for Christmas which worked ok, and so this one been sat in the garage, and easy come for some, they couldn't be bothered sending it back so they asked if I wanted??

My prev oven been in use about 8yrs, no issues, wiring all good and up to scratch here..

So. wired it up, turned on, all seemed ok, turned the dual element oven on, was on about an hour or so to burn off factory residues & smells etc, all looking good, nice and hot working fine...

Went to rotate knob to grill to burn that off, and as I moved it one click there was massive pop and a flashover from the consumer unit area, and the mcb (40A dedicated cooker circuit, nothing else on it except ceramic hob [which was off]) had operated, the RCD did not operate.

I rotated control knob back to O position and tried to reset the mcb, but again a huge pop & flashover right in my face, we are talking sparks flying out of the mcb all over the floor, major flashing..

In the end I could only reset the mcb by switching off the cooker switch on the wall, but as soon as I pushed it back down, POP and sparks flying everywhere again...