Discuss Newbie just saying hello in the The Welcome Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hello,
well, I'm not an electrician by any stretch but I do know how to wire a plug, use a multimeter and ask for help when I'm stuck.
Currently I'm trying to trace faults in a 3hp single phase 240V compressor motor - I bought the unit really cheap but it looks like the Artful Bodger has been there before me. The unit seems to be missing the thermal overload protector switch and the wiring to the connector block (motor windings and start and run capacitors looks odd - the live wire is connected to an otherwise empty terminal meaning no live feed going anywhere at all - that connector post has nothing else connected to it. I believe that the overload should connect between that and somewhere else on the block.
Anyway, too early for me to be asking questions just yet, I need to research some more and then come back with questions if I can't find the answers. Hopefully this forum will be a very useful resource.
Cheers

Welcome to the forum mate.
Draw up how the motor is wired up and post it on here.

Welcome to the forum mate.
Draw up how the motor is wired up and post it on here.

Cheers, I will do, unfortunately the it's very hard to read the terminal labels on the connector block. I'll take a picture and post that up here, maybe that will help.
(I think I might have accidentally just created a quoted conversation in the forum - I'm not used to this particular forum version - sorry)

Cheers, I will do, unfortunately the it's very hard to read the terminal labels on the connector block. I'll take a picture and post that up here, maybe that will help.
(I think I might have accidentally just created a quoted conversation in the forum - I'm not used to this particular forum version - sorry)

No worries. You just personally replied to me rather than the forum.

Here's some pics of the connector block: