Electrical2Go - Online Electrical Supplier
This official sponsor may provide discounts for members

Discuss Newbie question... garage circuit connected to ring final circuit. in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:  American Electrical Advice Forum

Hi,

I am studying for me 91 and am currently practicing on my home. I have found that my garage circuit consisting of a small 2 way CU with 1 of each; ring and lighting circuit (no RCD). I expected to see this circuit connected to the main CU through its own CB but in fact it is connected to one of the ring final circuits (via a double socket as a spur) and the spare 32A MCB in the main CU not used. I believe, but doubt myself, that this is a C2 because of circuit interconnection and that only an FCU (max 13A) could supply more than one spur (but not the lighting circuit).

Is my logic correct, and if not why not? If I am correct would this constitute a C1 rather than a C2? The rest of the circuits are fine. I scratch my head as to why somebody would do this when there is a spare way in the CU and both the dist board in the garage and the CU appear to be just a few years old.

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated. If I am wrong please can you give me an explanation?

Thank you.

FYI I only have Amendment 2011 knowledge.

uHeat Banner - Forum Discount Available
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
Hi,

I have the same guide, but what is the definition of a cross-connected circuit? As it is not connected to the same CU but is connected like a spur is it really cross connected?

Jimmy Boy

-
Arms