Discuss No Earth Continuity on Ring Circuit in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

N

NewbieRuffy

HI all.. Some advice please if possible, i did see a post on here which related to this a few days ago when i first joined, i cant seem to find it now. ON testing earth continuity on a upstairs ring circuit i get zilch, nothing, zero!!! Both L's are good and come back with the same reading for both. I have checked all sockets in all rooms and apart from a couple of semi bad connections all looks good. As i am still pretty new to all this any advice please? :redface:

You could start by disconnecting one leg of the CPC at the CSU then use a long lead to do an R2 test at the nearest socket outlet, then move along until you find the break.

Thanks Drew, did think of this, thought as yet havent purchased a 'wander lead' think its about time i did. Do you know if the 'megger' is any good?

Or...
Split the ring at the mid point then R1+R2 test each half.
This will show you which half of the ring the break is (if only 1!)
Then, on that leg, test at each socket until you get continuity, so the break will between that socket and the previous tested one.

Don't need to mess around with a wander lead either.

Last edited by a moderator:
When you say you get zilch nothing zero do you mean you are getting a zero reading on your continuity tester or are you getting a very high value indicating open circuit.
If it is the former then there is likely an earth interconnection very close to the CU (assuming you are measuring your end to end continuity at the CU).
If you are getting an open circuit reading then as the posts above (easiest with Archy's suggestion).