Discuss Non Electrician Socket/Dishwasher Question in the Electrical Appliances Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

F

fletcher89

Hi I am not an electrician but stumbled across this forum when trying to find answers to my I problem so thought I'd ask here, hope you don't mind.

The problem is one of the sockets in my kitchens seems to be blowing up my dishwashers. I have two gaps in my kitchen, either side of my sink, for appliances. Both have single sockets and an additional switch just below the top cupboards to turn the plugs on or off. The one where my washing machine is fine but I think the other has a problem.

I first bought a nearly new (less than 6 months) all singing and dancing dishwasher, plugged in it and within five minutes of switching it on all the plug sockets in my house had tripped and I had to go to the fuse box and flick a switch to get them back on. Thankfully I got my money back for that one as I assumed it was the dishwasher that was at fault. I then went out and got a second hand dishwasher that worked, but each time I did a cycle I would hear a faint popping noise. Then one night when it was on I heard a very loud popping noise and all the electrics went off, plug sockets, lights, everything. After that I turn the plug off and went back to hand washing.

Then yesterday I decided to get another dishwasher, plugged it in last night and within five minutes all the plug sockets in the house had tripped. I unplugged it and tried plugging it in in various other downstairs plugs using an extension lead and the same thing happened, so I think it's safe to say the dishwasher is broken.

What are the chances of the plug being faulty and that causing my dishwashers to break? Or have I just been unlucky with dishwashers?

TIA