Discuss Non fire rated downlights and EICR coding& in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Good evening,

I am just wondering whether or not non fire rated downlights should be a coded issue (c3 as many electricians have told me) or whether this is false. From memory I believe napit code breakers made it a c3 if there was a room above.

P.s I'm still learning and this just seems to be a bit of a grey area that everyone seems to disagree on. In my eyes I would imagine it wasnt a major issue and surely couldn't warrant anything more than a c3

Well I'd be very grateful if anyone could give me some clarity

Some downlights dont NEED to be fire rated but its a recommendation, some DO need to be fire rated but as you are not the architect you may not know , typically the room would have fire doors, higher rated plasterboard and the like.
Personally i dont like the idea of it being an issue for an EICR as how would you know ?

fire rated downlights are only reqitred in the following situations:
1. the room above is a seperate dwelling e.g. a flat occupied by a different tenant/occupier.
2. the downlights are installed in an integral garage with living accomodation above.
3. the ceiling is recognised as a fire barrier between floors.

otherwise no code.

If you are still learning why are you carrying out EICRs.
I work alongside others who are and i am trying to ask questions to create a better understanding. If people didn't do that then what happens is we have tradesman who tick the same boxes and give the same answers all their lives without a full understanding or the right information

I work alongside others who are and i am trying to ask questions to create a better understanding. If people didn't do that then what happens is we have tradesman who tick the same boxes and give the same answers all their lives without a full understanding or the right information

Can't argue with that. Good man.