Discuss Nurse Call System in the Industrial Electricians' Talk area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

surreysparks

Hi All

I have a random problem with a C-TEC 800 nurse call system.

The sounders are not working, even though when the alarm is raised they receive 14VDC.

When I attach the pair from the sounders that is in the panel and connected to the sdr outlet to a toner you can hear both the sounders so I know they work.

Confused.....

Carnt say I have any experience of the c tec system but I know that some of the older fire alarm systems use to flip the polarity of the sounders to switch them on or off

That's just a total shot in the dark I have no experience of the c tec nurse call system

There is a common Neg and positive from the control panel to all sounders, plus a signal cable which is the zones trigger, you are allowed upto 3 sounders per zone. allcall points are just neg and trig

That sounds about right to me, though i've never even heard of the C-Tech nurse call system, let alone have any experience of them...

We deal with alot of nursing homes for fire and nurse call although the c-tec 800 is not widly used. most of them Eng54 are just and adressable system like the fire alarms

The sounders they have are 1 pair, no trigger etc....

As tazz has uploaded the wiring instructions for the C-Tech 800 system in his post #4, look at the wiring connection requirements for the different sounder options. They can't be much clearer, for you to be able to sort it out from there!!!

Remote I beleive just a - and a +.

They get 14v, no noise.

Connect the paid from my toner to the + and - at the panel and they make noise....

So the sounders work.

They get voltage when a call is raised, but don't sound...

No idea about the system itself, but have you measured the voltage when in alarm, whilst it is connected to the sounders? IT may drop off significantly when under load.