Discuss OLCI Domestic Installers Course in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi

I’m a bit of a noob to this so I apologise in advance.

I was just wondering if anyone had any experience of this OLCI course and if it was worth doing. I want to add some strings to my bow, and being located in Devon and working full time, this is one of the options I found.

From info I got from the sales guy the course includes all of this

EAL Level 2 Certificate for Domestic Electrical Installers
City & Guilds 2382-10 17th Edition IEE Wiring Regulations
City & Guilds 2377 In-Service Inspection and Testing of Electrical Equipment
Applicable Building Regulations (Part ‘P’)Building Regulations (P

For someone wanting to maybe start off doing some side work in domestic electrics, properly certified, is this a good set of qualifications to have?

That is all you need for domestic work as far as qualifications are concerned. However you also need to take into account the current climate and lack of experience.

This may force you down the self employed route inwhich case you will also need to register with a competent person scheme have all your own tools van and insurances.

Hope that helps

Chris

Can recommend the devon centre, give graham my regards. They have a barbq on a thursday and as well, tea coffee biscuits is free as paid for from scrap materials (copper from the plumbing lads). Excellent parking outside as well. It a sod to find first time as its down a farm track. Very modern centre.

Thanks for that, I wasnt sure whether it was a good idea to do the domestic course or the full electricians course but thought this would be a good start and i could always do that a bit later on.

I will happily give your regards. I am glad that its a centre with a good reputation, as doing a google search there are some cowboy outfits out there, and as the courses are quite a lot of money i didnt want to fall foul of one.