Discuss Old re-wireable fuse board change in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

B

bonn1ett

Hi everyone,

I am fairly new in the trade and wondered if anyone can throw some advice my way. I recently went to a fairly old property as all the lights had gone off due to a lamp blowing in one of the light fittings which in turn blew the 5amp fuse wire in the board. Apparently this had happened a few times with the lamp blowing/popping out of its fitting?

There is one lighting circuit and hence one 5amp fuse for the whole house - upstairs and downstairs. I recommended to the customer (elderly lady) that the fuse board needs updating and that two circuits are needed for the lighting - upstairs & downstairs. The customer is happy to have a new consumer unit put in but does not want any re-wiring done - obviously if there is any faults found on the existing wiring then i will recommend strongly that the work be carried out.

My question is this, with regards to only having the one lighting circuit, could i perhaps use a 10amp breaker as opposed to a 6amp to cover the whole house - as long as the cable rating is higher than this (not sure if its 1mm or 1.5mm being used, need futher investigation).

any advice would be great

Have you had a look in the old fuseboard to see if the lighting circuits are 'doubled up' onto one fuse? that very often happens. If so, when you come to change the board, splittling the circuits should be fairly easy.

Another thing to think about is the position of the board, is it easy to get to? remember a new dual RCD board (or RCBO's) can trip fairly often, it can sometimes be much harder for elderly people if access isn;t easy.

i will check in the board if it has been doubled up, thanks for that.
The board is under the stairs but is open (no cupboard) and easy to get to.
If there is only one circuit (worse case scenario) then could i use a 10amp breaker? Thinking of using RCBO's as its only a 4way board.
thanks for the quick response!