Discuss On the dreaded 2394 - 2395 Course in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

C

Chris Harrison

Hi all New to the forums but been working in the industry for 10 + Years now have my level 3 and 17th edition. Employers just put me on the inspection and testing course, not sure what to think at this moment on my second day. Initial letter says 5 days but looks like after this week will have to go in for a further two more tests, seems like they throw quite a lot of content your way in such a short amount of time.
I like to think i have had a lot of experience with testing and inspection, done quite a few periodic inspections with 30+ Distribution boards and probably the most experienced in the class but i'm still bricking it!
Was wondering what these qualifications will actually mean for me or allow me to do if anything extra, i don't see what my employer gains from sending me on this course?

P.s. I don't think city and guilds know what they are even talking about sometimes, get this sample question for instance:

Increasing the length of a cable would NOT affect the;

a. Voltage Drop
b.loop impedance
c.rating of the protective device
d.insulation resistance

C&G's correct answer was C announced the tutor! I don't have high hopes for the real life test where i can put in the 100% correct answer only for it to be wrong.

C is the correct answer, though... (in theory, anyway). Longer cable increases the VD because V=IR and R will be bigger (more cable). The loop impedance will be bigger for the same reason. And the IR will be lower as you've got more insulation in parallel. How can putting a longer cable in change the rating of your fuse/circuit breaker? So C is your answer.