Discuss Open circuit on a ring main. in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Reaction score
Hi All!
Officially losing my EF forum virginity with this one, and would greatly appreciate any help you guys could throw my way!

Through Covid-19 and no work currently being undertaken, this would seem like the best opportunity to finish the portfolio for my qualification. I am a 3rd year apprentice and a little green when it comes testing and fault finding.

My issue,
I am assigned to write about a fault, how I found it, and obviously the necessary steps to rectify it (How the exam board would like to see) but also for my own knowledge and understanding.
My circuit is a ring main wired in T+E and there are a total of 12 sockets on the circuit.

The fault I have chosen is an open circuit on the line conductor, cable has come out of terminal. So far I have explained that I found my fault by carrying out an end to end continuity test of all conductors, I received continuity results on my rn and my r2 but nothing on my r1 conductor thus indicating an open circuit...
I understand splitting the ring in half (Disconnecting all cables from socket 6) creating two radials and then testing down each leg to identify the faulty leg. This is the part im confused with, how would I physically test continuity of these two legs, Im really struggling to envision the steps from this point and how and where I would test from to break down the circuit to pin point where my fault is.
I've read so many different forums and still not getting any clarity, I appreciate any help you guys may offer!

stay safe,
Joseph

As above, measure continuity using linked conductors or a long lead. Once the faulty leg is identified then split again into half and repeat the process to cut down on fault finding time.