Discuss Outdoor Socket Supply in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

jt123

-
Reaction score
Hi all

I am in the process of having some garden renovations done and would like to have an additional outdoor socket installed. I have a Cabin in the garden; a 10mm cable runs from the DB on a 32a RCBO up to an exterior Wiska box, where it connects to a SWA and runs underground to the cabin.

Is it acceptable to have a socket using 2.5mm T&E (in conduit) from the Wiska box? Presumably with a FCU to fuse it down to 13a in line? It would be a short run of 2.5mm (about 30cm).

I am not an electrician and I fully intend to get a qualified to do the work, I do however have an interest in these things and tinker about with Auto electrics hence why I like to have an understanding of what needs to happen :)

Thanks for any advice.

Depends how the cable is jointed. If it’s in sleeved crimps then I would not Try to attach another cable to it.
if it’s in connector blocks then you could dab in a 3rd cable but again it could already be very tight squeeze so not ideal.
might be easier to come of a local socket in the house...

as the wiska box is on a 32A RCBO, you could spur off to a socket in 6.0mm ( Iz = 47A ) without fusing down. if you are goingto employ a sparks, post your location. one of is is probably close.

I used to have some big 50a Bakelite connector block which would just about accept 2 x 10mm conductors , getting an additional 6mm in would have been difficult

henley blocks in the wiska box ?

If it's a single/double socket outlet, yes you can use 2.5mm^2 to feed a spur, no need for a FCU as the plug's fuses will provide overload protection for the cable.

However:

Depends on how the existing swa/internal cable is connected - may not be possible to physically add.