Discuss Outside lights in the Lighting Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Reaction score
Hi, I’m a qualified electrician but off the tools now. I was giving a neighbour a little advice for lights in his drive. Advised to run armoured to locations for lights and PIR. He had another spark round for a look and price to connect cables up and install the lights. I advised to make cables off into wiska boxes and flex out to lights. The other spark advised flex to the lights is a bit naughty. He said usually armour straight to lights. Not sure if that’s possible unless they are massive industrial sized lights! What are thoughts on flex from weatherproof glands in wiska boxes to the lights please?

Depends a lot on what sort of lights. Wall mounted? Recessed into drive? Spike mounted? Something else?

Do they come with rubber flex tails (a lot do, with no way you'd terminate SWA into them)? Something larger & more industrial might have gland entry points? Need a lot more information, assuming the lights are already selected.

I often run SWA to Wiska 308 boxes, using earthing bars designed for the Wiska box, and a short length of flex to the light. But have to be sure the flex won't be vulnerable to damage.

Thanks for the reply. There is only a tiny entry point for a cable through a tight gland (push through). I see no other way. Some electricians like to pick holes in other peoples ideas when there is nothing wrong about it.
Thanks again.

Reply to Outside lights in the Lighting Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Similar Threads

Hi, Heavy industrial spark here, never do house bashing hence the question. I currently have a light switch at the front door not doing anything...
Replies
Views
Good Afternoon All Currently doing an EICR on common parts of a big site with multiple blocks. All blocks have outside garden spike lighting in...
Replies
Views