Discuss Part P and confusion from course provider in the Electrician Courses : Electrical Quals area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

A

angelboy

I have no previous electrical experience but wanted to complete a full house installation for my self build.

I understand that I can do this but would need to get the LA to check and sign off the work.

To try and help understand a little more I enquired to complete a Domestic Installer Part P course (with the local college) and was told that I didn't need to be an Electrician to take the course. They told me that they would teach a small amount of practical but focus on the regulations. After this course they told me that I could take a Installation and testing course that would qualify me to enter residential dwellings and test the electrics.

To comply with most 'competent persons' schemes it seems that they only accept qualified electrician which means that the courses I've enquired about seem pointless.

I don't want a career as an electrician and have no intentions of spending years on C&G courses. I'm happy to work on my own and family houses with guidance initially.

I can't imagine that the basics have changed for many many years, only the regulations to comply will have changed. If I understand these regulations then the practice and practical aspect for simple house circuits must be fairly easy to get a grasp of.

Should I take the Part P Domestic installer course?

What other 'positive' advice do you have?

Seriously i would not bother!! i would save the money and time and just pay a sparky to wire your house out!!

resons behind this

they can install quickly and highlight potential problems... (saving you £xxxx and --- amount of days
they have test equiptment (saving you £400+)
they can certificate the install (saving you £200+ LABC fees)