Discuss part p confused in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

B

BARRAKAS NAKKAS

hi all i am a recently qualified domestic electrician and was tought that any work out doors was notifiable. just phoned building control about installing some garden lighting and was told that i didnt need to let them know,does this rule vary from city to city or is the person on the other end of the phone line more confused than me.:confused:

Any works out side power or light needs to be notified ,and its the same rule for every one unless your in scotland that is where i think the rules differ , but it does sound about right ,as i had last night a councillor tell my customer that the notification notice she recieved for some out side lights means nothing nice eh

I get confused about this - so apologies - but as far as i remember any new circuit is notifiable, anything in a special location(eg bathroom/garden) or a kitchen is notifiable. However, i do seem to remember something about lights mounted on the outside of a house, being taken off existing circuit (with every thing out of reach on the outside), as not being notifiable(?) is this your case, or are the lights actually in the garden, in which case i agree definitely notifiable (unless plug in ELV kit)

i checked on my list from elecsa table of notifiable works and it just states external lighting minor works or major works if it plugs in the no as its external to the installation and not fixed

i checked on my list from elecsa table of notifiable works and it just states external lighting minor works or major works if it plugs in the no as its external to the installation and not fixed