Discuss Part P confusion in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

G

gaz26

Hi there guys. I've been an electrician for 14 yrs working for a company who were registered with niceic. I'm now thinking of setting up on my own. I've heard of people doing part p courses to work in domestic premises but my q is . Do i need to do a part p course to learn how to do domestic houses even though i allready have all the relevant qualifications ie nvq l3 , AM2, 17th regs and 2391 inspec and testing. surely this course would be irrelevent . also ,do i need to be part of niceic to sign off work because i've always thought that if u had the 2391 inspec n testing it meant u were competant and could do this .

thanks in advance to anyone who can shed any light.

Part P covers appropriate building regs,Parts A,B,C,E,L,M.

Without Part P and registration you would have to go through LABC every time except for non notifiable work.

Last edited by a moderator:
Basically it depends on the work you'll be doing. If it's industrial or commercial, then you won't need to bother with Part P (or LABC).
If you're doing notifiable work in domestic premises you'll need to inform LABC before you start and pay their fee (generally ÂŁ50 to ÂŁ100 I think), so if you're doing much of this it's much better to be part of a competant persons scheme (part P) and the price drops to a couple of pounds.
Having said all that, with the qualification you have, you'll be able to apply to any of the competant person schemes without doing a part P course, although if you talk to the training companies, some of them willl still try to get you on their course.

The label "Part P" course is very misleading. You do not do these courses and then become "Part P" as some seem to think. These courses show you how to carry out installations to current regulations and standards (which in your case it appears that won´t be necessary?).