Discuss Pat testing plug fuses in the Electrical Testing & PAT Testing Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

sham

-
Reaction score
Hello, I am new to PAT testing by myself as I just used to do it with an ex employer. We always changed the fuses of the plugs if they were overrated, mainly most had 13A fuses. Now I work for my-self I have carried out pat testing on new Items for a landlord, whether new items need pat testing is another matter as I was being paid to do it. I have come across plug fuses that Are 13A and the Appliances have rated Amp 3, 5, and 10 Amps. I would assume that the manufacturers know what they are doing as it is law. My only conclusion is that the 13 Amps protect the lead and therefore the appliance has its own built in fuse. So, I left the 13A in the plug in the brand-new items and changes the fuses in the older items. Is this correct or do just change the fuses of brand-new items.

Follow the makers instructions. I have never changed a fuse when PAT testing myself.

Follow the makers instructions. I have never changed a fuse when PAT testing myself.
I would have to say the Mate how can you pass an appliance with the wrong size fuse in the plug? One of the first visual tests.

Last edited:
Incorrect size fuse for the cable rating/appliance rating is a fail. Fail the kit and quote for corrective action.

Incorrect size fuse for the cable rating/appliance rating is a fail. Fail the kit and quote for corrective action.
Change the fuse or take the appliance out of service, you could of course cut the plug off!!!! Wrong size fuse for the appliance equals a fail.

But how are the Manufacturers getting away with it.
They may not be getting away with anything, all the appliances I have bought lately, not that many, have had the correct fuse in the plug.