Discuss PAT testing problem ( need help please ) in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

V

VasMasta

i am a bit of a newb at it and its been about 5 years since i did my course.

I have been doing some PAT testing and came to a problem

this old fan heaters have 55W power but fitted with 5Amp fuses
in my understanding anything below 700W must have 3Amp fuse, is that correct ? there also about 5+ power tools that rated at less then 700W have 5-10-13 amps fuses.

i am confused and dont know what to do here... why do they have this fuses ? should i change them to 3amp? i am paranoid to do something wrong here.

Please any help much appreciated

this old fan heaters have 55W power but fitted with 5Amp fuses
This doesn't sound right, are you sure that it's not just the actual fan motor that's 55 watts? A 55 watt heater isn't going to produce much heat....

power tools will need bigger fuses than what equates to the rated power, due to start-up current. same with fridges. you have to make a judgement based on the cable size, type of load, and manufacturers recommendation ( if available).

Marvo thats what it said on the heater 55W i am not sure maybe i missed something...

telectrix that helps cheers mate.

I just dont want to get in trouble for putting PAT testing PASS label with wrong fuse on it. :(

all i was asked to do is some PAT testing at this big work place because i did a course long time ago and have a certificate. I did my visual and insulation/earth test fine. I didn't want all this headache with fuses...

As Marvo has said it's highly unlikely that a mains operated fan heater is rated so low, you can check its resistance and by using ohms law you can fuse it accordingly.
Are you sure it's a heater and not just an old desk fan?

this old fan heaters have 55W power