Discuss Periodic Inspection Reports in the Australia area at ElectriciansForums.net

S

sinaloan

hi all,

i am currently an niceic domestic installer but i would like to be able to do periodics aswell which the domestic installer scheme doesnt allow. i spoke to the nic and they advised that i have to become an approved contractor to be able to do them. they said that i would have to show them some commercial or industrial jobs on my assesment. the problem is i dont do commercial or industrial work. they said they used to do an add on to allow to do periodics without having to become an approved contractor but they have stopped doing this. does that mean i cant ever do periodics? what sort of work would i have to show them and/or are there any other organisations which would allow me to do periodics without having to show them com/ind work? any help would be greatly appreciated

Im sure elecsa etc etc want a slice of cash from you Monkey?
Nothing in life is free, And if theres a governing body involved YOU PAY!!! lol
You dont need to be with a body Just have indenity insurance iv been led to believe.

Last edited by a moderator:
Load of cobblars;
You can undertake periodics but you cant use the niceic headed certs/reports unless you are AC or pay to be Dpir registered.
If you are competant to undertake periodics then crack on mate, use one of the many certificate suppliers such as
Tysoft & then add your own logo or the DI logo.

With NAPIT you will need to get your 239 to allow you to do PIRs (if you do not have it already), you will also need Public Liability insurance too.

Regards WA

Yeah, I was being a bit special there!

You can stay with the NIC as a DI and carry out PIR's on the green certs. Correct me if I'm wrong gents but would you need to be an approved contractor with the NIC to purchase certs with cert numbers on them? It's not a requirement to have cert numbers on a periodic report anyway so I don't know why I mentioned it in the first place!