Discuss PIR frequency in the Periodic Inspection Reporting & Certification area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

tank

-
Reaction score
I was looking at my own CCU in my rented flat and there's a NICEIC sticker on it recommending that the next PIR should be done in 12 months time, not in 5 years, presumably the sparks judgement call based on the condition of my flat.

does anyone know how much weight this 12 month recommendation carries or should carry, legally or otherwise with a landlord?

ps. as the last inspection was in 2005 and i'm now studying level 3 2330, i did a PIR myself for practice and it seemed fine but i'm still trying to get my landlord to arrange another PIR.

I'm not sure about Scotland, but in England and Wales there is no law to say that a Landlord must have any testing carried out, but by law he as a care of duty to make sure that all electrical appliances and installations are safe for use

Electrical Safety in Rental Property - England & Wales

That is an excellent read.

A way for the landlord to conform to his statutory duty is for appliances is In-service Inspection and Testing of Electrical Equipment and for the Installation itself EICR.

Also most insurance companies now insist on some form of testing and documentation when issuing a new/renewal of policies, so the landlord in most cases grudgingly gets the tests done.

I'm quite taken back by the existing PIR having a re-test date of 12 months, that is a very short time, and I think in all the testing I have done, the shortest period of a retest for me was 2 yrs, and that was because of the environment and I got several lowish IR readings. Have you had a chance to look at the report? You say you did a practice EICR, what was your results.

domestic recomendations 10years or change of tenancy ( incase tenant has been a DIY expert )