Discuss PIR's in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

jjcale

-
Reaction score
Hi all

I am new to this trade and just wanted to know a few things. With regards to PIR's.. as i understand it its wired like a 2 way switch? As in you have your feed from the board to your first PIR, then from there a 3 core between all PIR's and from that same point you loop to all the lighting points..is that correct?

Also with non-maintained em lighting..do you just run a circuit out of each lighting point to the em position as in keep it on the same circuit?

Not very specific i know but i hope it makes sence

Much appreciated

not quite right.do you mean PIRs as in security lights, or occupancy sensors. either way, you traet the PIR as a switch that is powered up. L/N in and SW L/N out to light. using multiple PIRs and/or multiple lights, just parallel them up, bearing in mind the load capacity of the PIRs. with em. lighting, you should feed through a keyswitch so that you can isolate the supply to the em. without turning the mormal lights off.

sorry, sensors i mean. Thanks i get it now. With the em you can use the keyswitch to test the em lighting as well? the job i was recently on there was no keyswitch..the em lighting just ran off the lighting points..

sometimes that's OK. as long as switching the main lighting off for testing the em's does not cause danger or inconvenience.

Reply to PIR's in the Electrical Wiring, Theories and Regulations area at ElectriciansForums.net

Similar Threads

Hi, Heavy industrial spark here, never do house bashing hence the question. I currently have a light switch at the front door not doing anything...
Replies
Views
Hi there, I have an outside light that is turned on with a switch from inside and would like to change it to a PIR version incorporating an...
Replies
Views