Discuss Plumber in need... in the Industrial Electrician Talk area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

M

mal103

Hi everyone - I was on here ages ago asking a few questions and got some great advice - I now need your help again.
I previously wanted to re-train and start up as a Self Employed Sparks but was wary about going in the deep end, I am instead re-starting my old Plumbing business and will soon need some Electrical training.

I have got the business going and it's starting to pick up although I am still part time self employed alongside my main IT job. I plan to jump into full time self employed before xmas.

Sooner or later I will need to be able to self certify Electrical work so am looking at Part P courses followed by the 17th. I have some practical experience and have picked up some regs and theory - will the 5 day EAL Part P be enough? Who is the best competent persons scheme and how hard are the assessments?

I also was wondering what limitations I will have after doing the Defined Part P, is it easy to change this to Full scope later on? When I'm up and running my goal is to offer Domestic Plumbing (without Gas) and Electrical services, I don't want to be turning Electrical work down because I'm not allowed to do it - but can wire in C/H and Showers.

Thanks in advance!

Just take the 17th (guess the answers, you still have a 33% chance of passing) you can boost this to 50% chance with a bit of common sense) Get that you are half-way there. Plus you are helping the government to stop rougue sparks..(not) anyhow then go for part p, this also helps the government coffers because every job must be tested and it scares the cowboys away (not) Part p is difficult btw you need to study, so the cowboys are laughing. Only the already genuine will do it,