Discuss Power to a Garage, with RCD at Garage and in the House? in the Electrical Forum area at ElectriciansForums.net

Welcome to ElectriciansForums.net - The American Electrical Advice Forum
Head straight to the main forums to chat by click here:   American Electrical Advice Forum

Oli_100

DIY
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm no Electrician, but I think I have a understanding of the basics.

Few years ago We had our Garage supplied with power by and "electrician". This was done by my Wife's family friend, and he never finished it in my eyes.

I've attached a diagram of what's going on:

Power to a Garage, with RCD at Garage and in the House? elec1.PNG - EletriciansForums.net

Does there need to be 2 RCD's in series for the Garage? The options I've seen are non-RCD supply from HOUSE to the Garage, and a RCD at Garage. Or RCD just at the House and not one at the Garage.

Should the Earth at the Garage be TT?

32A would indicate a ring circuit for the sockets in the Garage. Is it better to get a 20A to put in a Radial instead?

I Know 16A MCB in Garage for lights is too high, should be 6A I think.

I won't be doing any of the fixes myself if needed, I just want to understand what's been done wrong.

Id really appreciate your thoughts. Thanks.

Last edited:
Depending on how the lights have been wired, the installation is likely to be compliant.
there my be better ways to do it but only a site visit will explain all.

You can't non-RCD the supply from the house to the garage as on TT it won't disconnect if there is an internal cable fault. To avoid two RCDs in series tripping at once (or a garage fault taking out the house circuits) your options really come down to a 100mA delay-RCD up front for that sort of situation in place of the main switch. How practical that sort of a change is depends on the make/age of the house CU as to the availability of a suitable delay RCD and options for feeding the 40A MCB from that instead of its current 30mA instant RCD.